View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 9:48 pm

Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Bots? 
Rank 9
Rank 9

Mabey time to upgrade the old anit-bot registering system?
At my old 'forum' were I worked as an admin, we found it best to make a custom question in the registering stage, Is that maybe doable?

Fri Nov 22, 2013 5:38 am
Site Admin
Site Admin

I have tried that before, but the spammers hire real people to fill in the questions.
So the questions have to be game related. But this will prevent people not so familiar with XStoryPlayer to access the forum.

I have to admit the last two days spamming was really annoying. I think I change the captcha to something more difficult.

Fri Nov 22, 2013 10:23 am
Rank 2
Rank 2

As I think pseudos are random, maybe asking them what pseudo they have chosen is a solution.

Fri Nov 22, 2013 11:14 am
Site Admin
Site Admin

I understand what you mean. I look into it. But outsmarting the spammers is a job in itself.

Fri Nov 22, 2013 12:52 pm
Rank 10
Rank 10

Another solution is to validate account one by one. It's more job on your side, but i think there not so much new real "users" each day... :?

I also saw different anti-bot system :
- IP banning. there are some websites which are specialized to keep records of spammer IP address. You can ban such IP and provide a contact form for false positive.
- Mail banning. Most of spammers always used the same kind of mail address (ie ***@mail.ru) or disposable mail address (like yopmail), which "real" users never use.
- pseudo verification. I saw this one only once. It forbid user name such as e1g5g7z52f5. Only word existing in a dictionary can be used with number prefix or suffix.