View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Apr 28, 2024 2:27 am



Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 transparent textures rendering 
Author Message
Rank 16
Rank 16
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2015 1:05 am
Posts: 323
Location: france
Hi xpAdmin, hi everybody !

it seems that (cloth) textures are rendered 4 times.
probably front/back rendering for front cloth face, front/back rendering for back face.

it quite ennoying because 1 single line can be viewed 4 times depending on angle,
and now I also understand why transparency is (a lot) less transparent when rendering.

is there a way to avoid that : filemaker config, changing .dat declaration file ?

--------------------
for XPA,
forum management question:
do you prefer, one topic for each question I ask (I have alreday created 3-4 topics for my questions about modding and it's not finished)
Or do you prefer one "general modding questions" / "laissemoire modding questions & problems" ? :D

--------------------
spoiler bonus :
I'm close to release my first modding challenge submission :D

example :


Attachments:
screenshot3.jpg
screenshot3.jpg [ 10.39 KiB | Viewed 17153 times ]
texture.png
texture.png [ 48.63 KiB | Viewed 17153 times ]
Sat Mar 14, 2015 2:47 pm
Profile
Rank 18
Rank 18

Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2014 3:46 pm
Posts: 1094
I'm close to release my first modding challenge submission :D quote


nice :D


Sat Mar 14, 2015 3:17 pm
Profile
Rank 15
Rank 15

Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 11:31 pm
Posts: 187
Location: Germany
laissemoirire wrote:
and now I also understand why transparency is (a lot) less transparent when rendering.


I'm working with GIMP and when trying to make a new texture for Monica's bra I used opacity settings of 25% and 35% for the fill-tool to achieve semi-transparent cloth.


Sat Mar 14, 2015 4:50 pm
Profile
Rank 16
Rank 16
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2015 1:05 am
Posts: 323
Location: france
I have problems with bump maps.

I probably missed some magic trick..


Attachments:
bump.jpg
bump.jpg [ 218.21 KiB | Viewed 17056 times ]
Sat Mar 14, 2015 7:33 pm
Profile
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 11:16 am
Posts: 1865
@laissemoirire

Please feel free to use this topic for more questions.

Alpha channel in cloth texture:
-----------------------------------------

In the wiki example files for the cloth you will see a shader for the panty, that is also transparent.

The thickness for the cloth (the times it is rendered) can be set in the shader like this:

Code:
shader "AA_panty1"
{
  view_offset = 0.015;
  norm_offset = 0.001;
 
  thickness = 0; // Render it 1 time
 
  alpha_shadow = true; // Draw shadow for transparent object
 
  anis = true; // Use anisotropic texturing
}


A thickness of 1 renders it 2 times etc.

This allows for transparent cloth objects.

Also setting the alpha_shadow to true allows for transparent objects to have a shadow.


Bump mapping:
-------------------------

Make sure you save a heightmap texture to an image format with 1 channel. So not a .jpg greyscale rgb, but a 1 channel greyscale.

If the bumpmap has 3 channels it is presumed to be a normal map instead of an heightmap. This is also allowed, but then you have to create the normal map yourself.

Also you can set additional bump settings in the shader:

Code:
shader "AA_bumpmap1"
{
  bump_tex_scale = 3.0; // Scale texture itself (for textures with low height difference)
  bump_scale     = 10.0; // Scale bumpmap in shader (the Maya bump scale parameter)
}


N.b.
In Maya a bumpmap is always a heightmap (also when it is 3 channels).

Hope this helps.


Sun Mar 15, 2015 1:34 pm
Profile
Rank 16
Rank 16
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2015 1:05 am
Posts: 323
Location: france
Indeed, at first, my bumpmap was rgb gray colored.

but I changed it to grayscale and nothing changed BECAUSE what I see just now, it's still 24bits color depth !! what the !!! GRRRRRRrrr
(gimp I hate you when you do that !)


I see no AA_panty1, in hypershade nor body.ini
I'll try to redownload the tutorial resource pack.

but with your comment I should be able to advance.

--------------

Question with bumpmap :
how do I "attach" my bumpfile to my object ? It's done automatically by filemaker when I attach a bumpmap file to my object in maya ?
I say that because there's no link (outside of maya) between
Code:
shader "AA_bumpmap1"
{
  bump_tex_scale = 3.0; // Scale texture itself (for textures with low height difference)
  bump_scale     = 10.0; // Scale bumpmap in shader (the Maya bump scale parameter)
}

and this
Code:
shader "AA_panty1"
{
  view_offset = 0.015;
  norm_offset = 0.001;
 
  thickness = 0; // Render it 1 time
 
  alpha_shadow = true; // Draw shadow for transparent object
 
  anis = true; // Use anisotropic texturing
}


Sun Mar 15, 2015 5:58 pm
Profile
Rank 16
Rank 16
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2015 1:05 am
Posts: 323
Location: france
in another thread you talked about path
I tried many things and nothing worked...
I really don't get it


xpadmin wrote:
When you use a texture path in an .ma file without an # prefix the file is looked for in a pack.
Because the plugins have to operate outside the packs you have to prefix the file path with an #.

maya ? looking in a pack ? where outside maya do I have to use .ma files ?
the only line found is here
in filemaker start.ini file. which says : I feed you with this file.
Code:
in_file  = "[SOURCES]scenes/character6_cloth/body.ma";



Quote:
Say the plugin path for the file needs to be:
Code:
./plugin/dress/cloth1.jpg


OK no problem this is what I want..

Quote:
Then use the .ma file path:
Code:
#plugin/dress/cloth1.jpg

for that file.

what does that mean ? what .ma file path ? where ?
I tried to put a # for my texture path in maya but it don't want to keep it.

Quote:
Than the filemaker uses the source path e.g.:
Code:
pack/pack_abducted/sources/#plugin/dress/cloth1.jpg


and runtime path e.g.:
Code:
pack/pack_abducted/#plugin/dress/cloth1.jpg


what are those path with a # in it ? Oo
at runtime we want the game to look in "./plugin/dress/cloth1.jpg" not int "pack/pack_abducted/#plugin/dress/cloth1.jpg" (and I still don't understand what this # is

please :cry:


Attachments:
File comment: I'm so close to finish
screenshot1.jpg
screenshot1.jpg [ 37.33 KiB | Viewed 16752 times ]
Mon Mar 16, 2015 1:05 am
Profile
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 11:16 am
Posts: 1865
@laissemoirire

If you still have issues using the bumpmap then please send the files you use to:
admin(AT)xmoonproductions(DOT)com
so I can take a look at that.

I have created a wiki example for creating cloth plugins and especially on how to use cloth textures outside the packs.
You can find it here.

If you still have questions after reading the cloth plugin wiki, post them here.

N.b.
The bra looks sharp!! :)


Mon Mar 16, 2015 11:47 am
Profile
Rank 16
Rank 16
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2015 1:05 am
Posts: 323
Location: france
new wiki page secret bonus page ! \o/

xpadmin wrote:
@laissemoirire

If you still have issues using the bumpmap then please send the files you use to:
admin(AT)xmoonproductions(DOT)org
so I can take a look at that.


no It works, thanks.


Mon Mar 16, 2015 1:16 pm
Profile
Rank 16
Rank 16
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2015 1:05 am
Posts: 323
Location: france
ok, great, wiki read, should be fine when I'll be at home this evening.

-------------

Question ! (yes sorry, lot of a questions, it's because I'm interested and I'm anticipating my next move)

- I want to create multiple textures for my bra. (because it's the best bra ever :roll: ) or I want others capable of creating textures.
and of course, I want a multiple choice ingame.


first option is to create a different plugin for each texture, but I'm the only one that can do that (I have the maya sources to create each "different" plugin with filemaker)

second one is the actual question :
- is it possible to configure the plugin to specify a texture (and bump) path in _plugin.ini (create X copies of the plugin and specify texture path. no need to filemaker each textures)

in case this is not possible, I'll probably release a standard object to use directly in a pack. textures can be colored or changed at runtime. the only problem is for
bumpmap, is it possible to change it with the current script system ?

dungeon pack (setting_ref.dat)
Code:
 
...
    ["Default"]
    {
      loc.color.r = 255;
      loc.color.g = 255;
      loc.color.b = 255;
      loc.color.a = 255;
     
      loc.shiny = 0;
      loc.power = 0;
     
      loc.tex = "#";
     
      loc.bump = "/somepath/totexture_bump.jpg"  // <-- does something like this exist ?
    }
...


Mon Mar 16, 2015 2:15 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 86 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group.
Designed by X-Moon Productions.