View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Apr 28, 2024 8:27 am



Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
 Need help with Maya 
Author Message
Rank 16
Rank 16

Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 2:29 pm
Posts: 351
I found the perfect model, already textured. But it was created in something else and in FBX. So I imported it into Maya. All seemed good... until I tried to convert it. There's no placed2dtexture. How do I add this?


Wed Mar 18, 2015 1:36 am
Profile
Rank 16
Rank 16
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2015 1:05 am
Posts: 323
Location: france
hummm I very new to maya too, but from what I saw, it could be that there's no material on your model (after import).

I saw "placed2dtexture" "attributes" created on materials.
In maya you have a graph looking like this :
placed2Dtexture -> texturefile -> materialTexturetype(bump/color/transparency) -> material

btw...

go into Hypershade (window -> rendering editors -> hypershade), hypershade is the material library in maya, don't ask why they don't call it "material library".
from now you can create a new material for your mesh (something like : create -> material -> lambert).
I don't know if the material type is used at runtime ingame, but lambert is supposed to be matte, blinn or phong is shiny.

add a texture (from file) to your material "color", and that should be ok.

a small tutorial I found when writting this : http://ucbugg.github.io/learn.ucbugg/shading/

#########

IF, you allready have a material on your model, maybe "placed2dtexture" is the name of it (named like this at import).
you have to declare your material in body.ini and tell filemaker how to render it.

in your body.ini, copy
Code:
shader "AA_body"
{
  color_w_type = SPEC;

  shader_type = SKIN2;
 
  blend_mode = ADD;
  blend_mode_par = (0.075,0.5,0,0);
}


and rename it to match your material name. (or rename you material in maya to match the ini file :AA_body)
in your case it could be
Code:
shader "placed2dtexture"
{
  color_w_type = SPEC;

  shader_type = SKIN2;
 
  blend_mode = ADD;
  blend_mode_par = (0.075,0.5,0,0);
}


look where this material is used within the body.ini file. (ctrl + F -> aa_body)
it's used here (line 1715):
Code:
  render_skin
  {
    elem[0]
    {
      alpha_depth_write = false;

      lod[0]
      {
        mesh = "bodyShape";

        og[0]
        {
          shader = "AA_body";
        }


and replace with the material name you have in maya...

if it's not that, sorry, I don't know. maybe xpadmin can help


Wed Mar 18, 2015 11:18 am
Profile
Rank 17
Rank 17
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2015 2:06 pm
Posts: 682
Location: Australia
laissemoirire wrote:
go into Hypershade (window -> rendering editors -> hypershade), hypershade is the material library in maya, don't ask why they don't call it "material library".


I know right i keep pressing M and waiting for my Material Library to pop up :(

_________________
To install a mod

ESKARN'S TUTORIALS

Eskarn's Dungeon Mod(BETA)

Eskarn's puzzle map (story)


Wed Mar 18, 2015 11:42 am
Profile
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 11:16 am
Posts: 1865
If a shader has a file it needs a placed2dtexture for the fileMaker to convert it.

You should see the shader name in the error. Select that shader (type in select ShaderName; in the script editor).

Now open the Hypershade and expand the shader using >> in the top menu.

Now you will see the shader fully expanded and the elements that are connected to it.

Most likely you will see a shader that uses a file but the file has no placed2dtexture.

You can delete the file element and recreate it by clicking on the color attribute and selecting file.

Now the shader should have a placed2dtexture.


Wed Mar 18, 2015 12:15 pm
Profile
Rank 16
Rank 16
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2015 1:05 am
Posts: 323
Location: france
xpadmin wrote:
You can delete the file element and recreate it by clicking on the color attribute and selecting file.

Now the shader should have a placed2dtexture.


the fast way 8-)

I was not so far


Wed Mar 18, 2015 12:20 pm
Profile
Rank 16
Rank 16

Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 2:29 pm
Posts: 351
Thanks, xpadmin. Very few .ma/.mb models for what I want.


Wed Mar 18, 2015 12:51 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 174 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group.
Designed by X-Moon Productions.