View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 9:25 am



Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 fps/performance issues and crashes 
Author Message
Rank 12
Rank 12
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 1:46 am
Posts: 85
FPS/Performance:
I managed to play through the whole game but thought things where too slow and floaty.
I accidental found the [ctrl]+[S] fps command and realised i have BAD fps.

Normally my fps is around 20-30 but in some angles in some location it drops down to 8 or below.

I'm on a MSI GX60 Laptop.
AMD A10-4600m cpu
AMD Radeon HD 7970M / 2GB gddr5
8GB ram

i have 2 graphics cards:
AMD Radeon HD 7660G, 512 MB
AMD Radeon HD 7970M, 2048 MB

for performance comparison, i can play skyrim at near max setting with 0 issues.

X64 - DireckX
Code:
settings
{
  rendermode   = DIRECTX; // Can be 'OPENGL' or 'DIRECTX'
  xpos         = 0;
  ypos         = 0;
  width        = 1366;
  height       = 768;
  antialiasing = 0;
  vsync        = false;
  window       = true;
  volume       = 100;
  brightness   = 100;
  fovy         = 60.0;
  keyboard     = 0;
  feedback     = true;
  stereoscopic = false;
  save         = "save/save1.dat";
}
NOTE: using these settings causes the game to crash if I select "settings" from main menu, game runs fine.

scene: default Samantha fast sex options.

_________________
We understand, RIP.


Last edited by b00marrows on Fri Jan 03, 2014 8:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.



Fri Jan 03, 2014 3:35 pm
Profile
Rank 12
Rank 12
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 1:46 am
Posts: 85
32X - OpenGL
Code:
settings
{
  rendermode   = OPENGL; // Can be 'OPENGL' or 'DIRECTX'
  xpos         = 0;
  ypos         = 0;
  width        = 1366;
  height       = 768;
  antialiasing = 0;
  vsync        = true;
  window       = true;
  volume       = 100;
  brightness   = 100;
  fovy         = 60.0;
  keyboard     = 0;
  feedback     = true;
  stereoscopic = false;
  save         = "save/save2_0.dat";
}

_________________
We understand, RIP.


Fri Jan 03, 2014 8:18 pm
Profile
Rank 12
Rank 12
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 1:46 am
Posts: 85
X64-OpenGL
Code:
settings
{
  rendermode   = OPENGL; // Can be 'OPENGL' or 'DIRECTX'
  xpos         = 0;
  ypos         = 0;
  width        = 1366;
  height       = 768;
  antialiasing = 0;
  vsync        = true;
  window       = true;
  volume       = 100;
  brightness   = 100;
  fovy         = 60.0;
  keyboard     = 0;
  feedback     = true;
  stereoscopic = false;
  save         = "save/save2_0.dat";
}

_________________
We understand, RIP.


Fri Jan 03, 2014 8:24 pm
Profile
Rank 12
Rank 12
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 1:46 am
Posts: 85
X32 - DirectX
Code:
settings
{
  rendermode   = OPENGL; // Can be 'OPENGL' or 'DIRECTX'
  xpos         = 0;
  ypos         = 0;
  width        = 1366;
  height       = 768;
  antialiasing = 0;
  vsync        = false;
  window       = true;
  volume       = 100;
  brightness   = 100;
  fovy         = 60.0;
  keyboard     = 0;
  feedback     = true;
  stereoscopic = false;
  save         = "save/save2_0.dat";
}

_________________
We understand, RIP.


Fri Jan 03, 2014 8:53 pm
Profile
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 11:16 am
Posts: 1865
The bottleneck in your case is the processor. We use the CPU for cloth integration and collision.

In your images the PPSR (Process per second real) does not get higher that 45 fps which means that the fps due to the CPU does not get higher than 45.

The FPSR (Frames per second real for graphics card) does get higher than 60 fps. So your graphics card is not the bottleneck!

N.b.
The FPS is the minimum of the FPSR and PPSR, the actual framerate you are getting.

The FPS in your case is probably higher without cloths on, because then the cloth integration does not need to be done.

What CPU do you use? Intel quad core 2.3 Ghz should be enough.


Sat Jan 04, 2014 11:12 am
Profile
Rank 12
Rank 12
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 1:46 am
Posts: 85
xpadmin wrote:
The bottleneck in your case is the processor. We use the CPU for cloth collision.

In your images the PPSR (Process per second real) does not get higher that 45 fps which means that the fps due to the CPU does not get higher than 45.

The FPSR (Frames per second real) does get higher than 60 fps. So your graphics card is not the bottleneck!


thanks for the reply!

if that's the case why dose the game not demand more CPU? its normally sitting around 30-40% (as posted on each screenshot)

hmm...my cpu is quad-core, so dose your game only support duel cores or something?

_________________
We understand, RIP.


Sat Jan 04, 2014 11:18 am
Profile
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 11:16 am
Posts: 1865
We use four threads:

- One for rendering
- One for cloth integration
- One for fluid integration
- One for rest of physics.

But also CPU memory access needs to be fast. Intel performs better in this case, in my experience.


Sat Jan 04, 2014 11:23 am
Profile
Rank 12
Rank 12
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 1:46 am
Posts: 85
xpadmin wrote:
We use four threads:

- One for rendering
- One for cloth integration
- One for fluid integration
- One for rest of physics.

But also CPU memory access needs to be fast. Intel performs better in this case, in my experience.

hmm... I don't know what to do than if 2.3GHZ quadcore is not enough for stable gameplay...

_________________
We understand, RIP.


Sat Jan 04, 2014 11:31 am
Profile
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 11:16 am
Posts: 1865
2.3 Ghz Quad core should be enough.

What system specs do you have exactly (CPU type, memory size, etc) ?

What OS are you using (64 bits gives speed increase of 40%) ?

Also do you run other software simultaneously that eats processing power?

Do you use (DIRECTX) full screen mode (window = false) ?

Regards xpadmin


Sat Jan 04, 2014 11:38 am
Profile
Rank 12
Rank 12
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 1:46 am
Posts: 85
xpadmin wrote:
2.3 Ghz Quad core should be enough.

What system specs do you have exactly (CPU type, memory size, etc) ?

What OS are you using (64 bits gives speed increase of 40%) ?

Also do you run other software simultaneously that eats processing power?

Do you use (DIRECTX) full screen mode (window = false) ?

Regards xpadmin


1. i posted my system at the top:
I'm on a MSI GX60 Laptop.
AMD A10-4600m cpu
memory size?... ram? 8GB
2. windows 8 64bit
3. while gaming, never.
4. as stated above, I disabled full screen to do these tests. also i mentioned that disabling fullscreen causes a bug that makes the game crash when you click setting on the menu.

im clocking my cpu to 2.4 to see if theres a diffirence, im also going to test if the game uses my cpu's turbo mode properly.

_________________
We understand, RIP.


Last edited by b00marrows on Sat Jan 04, 2014 12:17 pm, edited 4 times in total.



Sat Jan 04, 2014 11:50 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 42 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group.
Designed by X-Moon Productions.