View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Tue Mar 19, 2024 3:31 am

Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
 How do we get started in 3D modeling? 
Rank 17
Rank 17

I have no experience in 3D modeling. I don't even have knowledge of what formats, file extensions or even the basic standards 3D models use.

I do have Blender installed and tried to learn how to use it, but got intimidated when it became clear that the tutorial videos I was watching were clearly out of date.

HOW TO START MODDING

Sat Apr 20, 2013 10:34 pm
Rank 5
Rank 5

You can dowload DAZ 3d software for free and use the user guide that comes with it. That is the simplest modeling software out there. There is also Poser and Maya if you have more expirience.

Sun Apr 21, 2013 3:44 am
Rank 4
Rank 4

It's been a while since I've tinkered around with 3D modeling software, what kind of poly count range(s) would you (the developers) want modelers to aim for?

Sun Apr 21, 2013 10:34 pm
Rank 7
Rank 7

grom76 wrote:
You can dowload DAZ 3d software for free and use the user guide that comes with it. That is the simplest modeling software out there. There is also Poser and Maya if you have more expirience.

Daz 3D isn't modelling software. It's a program where you use pre-made 3D models to create your images. I should know, i'm a vendor over at Daz 3D. ;P

For actual 3D modelling, Blender is your best bet. It's completely free, yet full featured (it comes with everything you need to create 3D models, renders, and animations).

Mon Apr 22, 2013 12:00 am
Rank 10
Rank 10

Try looking at AArtForm Curvy 3D. It a paid software btw.

Here the link for the main site for the software,

http://www.curvy3d.com/

Thu Nov 28, 2013 3:36 am
Rank 1
Rank 1