View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 4:32 pm

Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Learning to Program and so forth 
Rank 15
Rank 15

I'm highly interested in learning to create my own programs and games. I've come to discover through various articles and interviews that the majority of "Game Design" courses would be effectively useless and expensive. I would like some advice from anyone who has done any kind of programming.

I have no skill at all. Outside of learning a little of the "Computer Craft" mod in Minecraft and some NPC writing back in my Ragnarok Online days, I've no knowledge of programming at all. I've heard that starting out with DarkBasic would be a good idea to develop my skills and work from there.

Since I've recently acquired myself a job, I'll have enough money to purchase that program and any other programs to keep going. Does anyone have any advice? Any eBooks, programs, etc that I should look into?

I know that this is a highly unusual question to be asking but hey, maybe when I'm good enough I can apply my skills towards doing some modding for us all? :lol:

Anyway, thanks for any help or advice. I'll be checking back regularly!

~Mal

Wed Sep 17, 2014 12:09 am
Rank 16
Rank 16

Malachai wrote:
I'm highly interested in learning to create my own programs and games. I've come to discover through various articles and interviews that the majority of "Game Design" courses would be effectively useless and expensive. I would like some advice from anyone who has done any kind of programming.

I have no skill at all. Outside of learning a little of the "Computer Craft" mod in Minecraft and some NPC writing back in my Ragnarok Online days, I've no knowledge of programming at all. I've heard that starting out with DarkBasic would be a good idea to develop my skills and work from there.